Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

Become a Forum Friend and get extra permissions and DISCOUNTS from our sponsors!
plus many extra forum privileges (like 'edit post', avatars and signatures)

Author Topic: Bradivarius pickup  (Read 43643 times)

Offline shimmy

• Total Badges: 27
    Badges: (View All)
    Nineth year Anniversary Linux User Eighth year Anniversary
Re: Bradivarius pickup
« Reply #150 on: Feb 20, 2018, 01:33:08 PM »
I've been using his bridge for like 6 years now.

Among the dozens of pickups I tried I kept on sticking to this, and in addition with the Fishman Aura I get a result I love.
It does have a downside, that it's a soft bridge. I actually spoke to Brad about it and he insisted that the soft bridge is the main reason of having such a nice tone output.
The problem of soft bridge is: 1) harder to carve. 2) when you tone 1 string the other strings gets a little detuned too until it stabilizes so takes longer to tune the violin. 3) the bridge has a tendency to bend so you have to be extra cautious and always watch its shape.

I have his phone number and his email, so I'll be able to give it to you should you send me a private message.

Offline fiddler542

Nineth year Anniversary Eighth year Anniversary Seventh year Anniversary
« Reply #151 on: Feb 21, 2018, 09:08:08 AM »
Thanks shimmy and fiddledeedee.  I looked at the obit for his wife, she was born the same year as me and passed away on my birthday last year.  It's very sad news and I hope Brad is doing ok.  I'll send him an email. 

Offline sdnalloh

• Forum Friend
  • It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing.

• Total Badges: 29
    Quick Poster Linux User Mobile User
« Reply #152 on: Feb 21, 2018, 12:30:28 PM »