Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

If you've forgotten your password or username, email madfiddler (link on the left of page).

Author Topic: Quite a few recordings of Old Revoiced Violins on Youtube  (Read 5468 times)

Offline Royce

• Total Badges: 6
    Badges: (View All)
    Search Windows User Topic Starter
Quite a few recordings of Old Revoiced Violins on Youtube
« on: Aug 21, 2013, 07:01:57 PM »
Hi, My name is Royce and I've been collecting and dealing in old fiddles/violins for about 25 years or so. I've got a lot of these old fiddles recorded on my youtube account "burtvillefarms" Many of these old violins have been revoiced and sound great for fiddling. Some of you might be interested in at least hearing how these old fiddles sound. Now I'm not the best fiddler by any means but play well enough to hear the potential in the hands of a good player.

I also play the banjo but don't hold that against me. Anyway, just thought some folks might be interested in hearing some of these old fiddles. I put a few new ones up each month as I get them completed.

http://www.youtube.com/user/burtvillefarms/videos?view_as=public

thanks
« Last Edit: Aug 21, 2013, 07:28:40 PM by Royce »

Offline Jansberg

• www.jansberg.com

• Total Badges: 32
    Linux User Level 6 Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Quite a few recordings of Old Revoiced Violins on Youtube
« Reply #1 on: Aug 21, 2013, 08:01:47 PM »
Hi Royce - I have been watching a few of the videos you posted via fiddlehangout..

For me it sounds quite intriguing - revoicing a fiddle is certainly not something that gets done here in Denmark very often.

I know you probably wont tell exactly what is being done to the fiddles - but is there any possibility of some measurements of the sound, maybe even before and after?
www.jansberg.blogspot.com - my blog about pickups, microphones, amplifiers and other gear for fiddles

Offline Royce