Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

Author Topic: Newbie Looking for A Case  (Read 2017 times)

Offline Cassady

• Total Badges: 6
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 2 Second year Anniversary Topic Starter
Newbie Looking for A Case
« on: Dec 15, 2011, 01:06:12 AM »
I'm a newbie to the forum and not a violin player (although that may chagne)--I'm a guitarist who is learning stringed instrument repair.

I've mostly been learning about working on guitars, but I remembered an old violin that my brother had laying around that hadn't been touched in decades.  I thought this would be a good opportunity to learn something about working on violins and I was right.

Here's a picture of the violin after my work was completed:

I'm pretty happy with the way the violin turned out--I fit and cut a new bridge, sanded and stained the finger board, fit the tuning pegs, installed a new end pin and tail piece hanger and did some touch up work on the finish.  I've now moved on to learning bow repair and re-hairing.

I'm not, however, going to be able to repair the case.  As you can kind of see in the photo, it's in pretty bad shape.  Ideally,I'd like to find a case in a style that's appropriate to the violin.  My teacher thinks it's a 1920's or 1930's Czech trade violin.

Are there any modern cases that would be an appropriate style (and price) for this instrument or do I need to keep trying to find an old case and buy a new one in the mean time?

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Advertise Here

Offline Joe Gerardi

• Global Moderator
  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • I *bothered* to edit my profile... :-)

• Total Badges: 32
    Apple User Level 6 Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Newbie Looking for A Case
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15, 2011, 01:39:55 AM »
It might be the angle of the picture, but is the bridge cut backwards? The high side should be on the bass: yours looks somewhat low on that side...