Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

If you've forgotten your password or username, email madfiddler (link on the left of page).

Author Topic: Rosin oddness, curious if anyone knows how come....  (Read 1047 times)

Offline zaivanbuijs

• Total Badges: 27
    Badges: (View All)
    Search Tenth year Anniversary Apple User
Rosin oddness, curious if anyone knows how come....
« on: Apr 27, 2011, 05:23:00 PM »
Last couple months I've been playing my 5 string fiddle. On the other fiddles I played I never had rosin cake up on the strings in the same way it does on that 5 string. Prims for strings, same as I've been using for a couple years now on all fiddles. On the other fiddles rosin caked on the string, but was easy to get off with use of a cloth, or cork, or scratching it off with a nail,and the string would be completely clean. Now on that 5 string the rosin sticks on the strings very bad. It's hard to scratch it all off. There's a thin film of blackened rosin sticking to the string, and on top that the same white coating of rosin I was used to seeing. The white coating comes off ok, but the blackened thin layer stuck to the string is a damn to get off. Haven't resorted to using alcohol to get it off, just a looooot of scratching and it eventually comes off. Just curious if anyone can explain why this happens. Can't think of anything different. Same rosin, same brand strings. Just a different fiddle.

Even though this is a serious question, and I'd love to figure out the how come, I do welcome any shenanigans and silliness in this here thread ;)

Offline alwyswinn

• Total Badges: 25
    Apple User Mobile User Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Rosin oddness, curious if anyone knows how come....
« Reply #1 on: Apr 27, 2011, 05:40:59 PM »