Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates



Become a Forum Friend and get extra permissions and DISCOUNTS from our sponsors!
plus many extra forum privileges (like 'edit post', avatars and signatures)

Author Topic: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...  (Read 11976 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrb123

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52

  • Total Badges: 12
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 3 Fourth year Anniversary Third year Anniversary
I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« on: Apr 12, 2011, 06:58:23 PM »
I would like to play several midi file tunes, and be able to change the instruments to violin, from the original.
What freeware program can I use? I do have Cakewalk, but it has such a steep learning curve for me. I have no clue how to do this in Cakewalk, so I am looking for something simpler.
Any suggestions?

Offline Joe Gerardi

  • Global Moderator
  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,063
  • Gender: Male
  • I *bothered* to edit my profile... :-)

  • Total Badges: 32
    Badges: (View All)
    Apple User Level 6 Tenth year Anniversary
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #1 on: Apr 12, 2011, 07:11:23 PM »
Try Kristal:
http://www.kreatives.org/kristal/
You can add MIDI CC's to change programs inside the MIDI stream.

..Joe
"Some people are like a Slinky... not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you shove them down the stairs"

Offline mrb123

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52

  • Total Badges: 12
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 3 Fourth year Anniversary Third year Anniversary
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #2 on: Apr 12, 2011, 07:48:15 PM »
I think even this program is overkill for my purposes. I will have to read the help files again.
Basically, all that I want to do is load up a midi file on a simple midi software player,  and eg: change the flute notes to play violin, so I have a better ear for how to play along to the song.
Does this help?

Offline Joe Gerardi

  • Global Moderator
  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,063
  • Gender: Male
  • I *bothered* to edit my profile... :-)

  • Total Badges: 32
    Badges: (View All)
    Apple User Level 6 Tenth year Anniversary
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #3 on: Apr 12, 2011, 07:54:44 PM »
That's going to require 2-way communication, because you need to call the MIDI Controller Codes to change instruments. Otherwise you'd have to manually set them before each piece, but I'd doubt that'd work: Any MIDI programmer worth his salt will assign MIDI program numbers at the beginning of each track, so the moment you hit "Play" they're going to switch back to the original program.

Sorry, but it does require a bit of work when you want to mess with stock MIDI code.

..Joe
"Some people are like a Slinky... not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you shove them down the stairs"

Offline mrb123

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52

  • Total Badges: 12
    Badges: (View All)
    Level 3 Fourth year Anniversary Third year Anniversary
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #4 on: Apr 12, 2011, 08:02:54 PM »
Thanks Joe, for your info. I happened to find Anvil Studio and loaded that up. It does exactly what I want to do!! I can change individual tracks to play whatever instruments I want to hear, not too complicated for me.
I loaded 'Blessed Assurance' midi, and changed tracks to a string ensemble, church organ, or whatever. Now at least I can hear an approximation of violin or fiddle notes, which I can then play along with.
Just the ticket for a beginner like myself!!

Offline Joe Gerardi

  • Global Moderator
  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,063
  • Gender: Male
  • I *bothered* to edit my profile... :-)

  • Total Badges: 32
    Badges: (View All)
    Apple User Level 6 Tenth year Anniversary
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #5 on: Apr 12, 2011, 08:59:40 PM »
I assume you're using the GM (General MIDI) soundset? One thing to consider if you are: the soundcards generally have *much* better sounds than those, so if you get into if just a little bit and see what other sounds are available, you'll probably be really surprised and just what will actually come out of the speakers.

..Joe
"Some people are like a Slinky... not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you shove them down the stairs"

Offline polkat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185

  • Total Badges: 22
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re: I want to change instruments in MIDI files...
« Reply #6 on: Aug 30, 2012, 01:52:50 AM »
There are a few other simple programs that can do this. Sweet Midi Player is perfect for this, and there's a free demo, but the demo version won't save. Midiglass can also do it. Is Anvil Studio a freeware?

 




Get Adobe Flash player


Fiddle and Alternative Strings Forum (c) 2016 Mark Knight /
SONiC FUEL
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal