Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

If you've forgotten your password or username, email madfiddler (link on the left of page).

Author Topic: what a difference a good fiddle makes. have you had this experience?  (Read 783 times)

Offline kjbllc

• Total Badges: 28
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary 500 Posts Nineth year Anniversary
ok a little history, I started playing ( half assed) in the 70's , picked it up and put it down with years in between, started practicing seriously about 3 years ago. Started making in 79 , again on and off, till about 4 years ago and started taking classes.

ok so through all this I have listened to a lot of fiddles, including very good ones. I never really got the difference in sound until yesterday. I could tell the sound was much better but nothing that really smacked me in the face.

now this is with new strings , just out of the UV cabinet .

I just strung up my last one , and wow, now I understand .  last nite I could't put it down . 

about an  hour in I was just listening to the sound of the violin , it was like coming out   from living in a cave all your life and understanding what life was all about .

I had connected with music spiritually on many occasions, but never connected with the actual instrument , to coin a phrase " it came to life in my hands" quite amazing.

I would like to know if this is a common experience >

so now today I will go out and see if I was just dreaming!  kevin 

Offline Emma

• Senior Moderator
  • If you can walk, you can dance.

Tenth year Anniversary Quick Poster Nineth year Anniversary
Wow, you had this experience with a violin you made yourself? I just can't imagine how incredible this must be.
I played a Stradivarius once - same kind of amazing. I wished I could play it longer.
How fabulous to own a violin that gives you that kind of response.
Eat food.  Not too much.  Mostly plants.
(Michael Pollan)