Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates



Become a Forum Friend and get extra permissions and DISCOUNTS from our sponsors!
plus many extra forum privileges (like 'edit post', avatars and signatures)

Author Topic: digital tuner question..  (Read 3671 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Keeri3

  • Guest
digital tuner question..
« on: Dec 30, 2003, 12:55:38 AM »
Forgive me if this has been brought up too many times, but I didn't find much info when I searched...
Since I just got my first fiddle, I need to find a digital tuner for it, and was curious as to what y'all used?

Offline alwyswinn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,100

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Apple User Mobile User Tenth year Anniversary
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #1 on: Dec 30, 2003, 01:16:21 AM »
here you go kerri a bit of discussion here

http://www.fiddleforum.com/fiddleforum/index.php?board=5;action=display;threadid=192

let us know if that helps if not ask the question in that thread there

Offline Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 578

  • Total Badges: 24
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #2 on: Dec 30, 2003, 03:23:39 PM »
I use a "Qwik Tune" automatic chromatic tuner. Takes 2xAAA batteries. I'm not sure you'd call it digital as it uses an analogue LCD pointer to show how sharp/flat you are. There's a built in electronic pitch pipe too for when you're tunign up new strings and need a ballpark note to aim for.

I personally find blown pitch pipes near useless as I can blow the note out of tune by blowing harder or softer.

Offline chifiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266

  • Total Badges: 24
    Badges: (View All)
    Windows User Tenth year Anniversary Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #3 on: Dec 30, 2003, 09:13:41 PM »
I use an Intellitouch tuner that clamps on the fiddle. Spring for the one with the lighted display, it is ten dollars more but worth it to see the reading in a dark session setting!

Offline fiddlingaround

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #4 on: Dec 30, 2003, 09:30:21 PM »
I use a korg, it's about $20 and works very well. 2 triple A batterys I tihnk

Offline mizlizj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Gender: Female

  • Total Badges: 23
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #5 on: Dec 30, 2003, 10:34:53 PM »
I just received my Intellitouch Tuner yesterday.  I love it! It was worth the investment.  I got the one with a backlight.  I wouldn't trade it for anything. It is so easy to use.

Liz

Offline Mnfele

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,540

  • Total Badges: 22
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Level 4
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #6 on: Dec 31, 2003, 12:50:43 AM »
Most of the time I use a tuning fork but if I'm in a hurry I use my old Qwik-Tune. (Older model, looks more like a Korg) If I'm tuning my hardingfele I need the Qwik-Tune! If I was purchasing a new tuner I would consider a tuner / metronome combination. Less stuff to carry in the case pocket.

Offline Graham Clark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,477

  • Total Badges: 27
    Badges: (View All)
    Apple User Mobile User Search
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #7 on: Dec 31, 2003, 02:47:16 PM »
I don't use a tuner unless I'm on stage with a VERY LOUD BAND, and that tuner is just part of the Korg effects unit I occasionally use. Even so, I would have tuned by ear beforehand.

I tune the A to a fork, or another instrument, then bow two strings at once to get the fifths perfect (A-D, then D-G, then E-A) I finish off by testing the harmonics, fourth finger harmonic (ie D) on G gives the octave D, same as the octave harmonic of the D, etc.

I use an old metal Thomastik tailpiece with four fine tuners, though my pegs are good. At the moment. I am  using Corelli Alliance strings. They hold their tuning pretty well, as do Zyex and Dominant, but on a very hot lit stage, you need the ability to do a quick tweak.

gc


Offline Mnfele

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,540

  • Total Badges: 22
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Level 4
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #8 on: Dec 31, 2003, 05:24:03 PM »
GC,
Noticed that you test your tuning with harmonics. (Actually your tuning procedure is almost identical to what I do.) Is this a practice that has gone out of style? I have been doing it for decades but never see any of the younger (< 35 yrs) players do this.

Offline natnot

  • Cupboard Dweller
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,497
  • Gender: Female
  • Mini Bree!
    • Natnot's homepage

  • Total Badges: 28
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Linux User Mobile User
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #9 on: Dec 31, 2003, 08:29:23 PM »
I know quite a few people who use the harmonic method to tune, particularly cellists - they are all university students so are mainly late teens/early twenties. I don't use it though, I just tune my A from my tuning fork and listen for the fifths for the other strings.

Offline chifiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266

  • Total Badges: 24
    Badges: (View All)
    Windows User Tenth year Anniversary Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #10 on: Jan 01, 2004, 05:28:00 PM »
Korg makes a very inexpensive tuner that allows you to play with a tone at 440 or you can use the feature that shows whether you are sharp or flat to 440.

Yes, I can tune to A and use harmonics, however, in the conditions I play in, the tuner can be used for a quick check of the tuning.

I also tune to the least tunable instruments at session, the pipes and flutes. They can tune in a narrow range...

Offline Jack002

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,671

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Windows User Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #11 on: Jan 06, 2004, 09:43:52 PM »
I have the Intellitouch without the light. Its great. I always wanted to know how to tune using harmonics and never learned. I can get close just tuning by ear tho.

Jack

Offline Richard Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 633
  • Gender: Male

  • Total Badges: 27
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #12 on: Jan 27, 2004, 02:27:40 PM »
must admit I have got veryu lazy about tuning and use an electronic Korg tuner - less time tuning more time annoying the neighbours.... hmmm or maybe tuning would annoy them more perhaps I should tune the way I was originaly taught

Offline Pilgrum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 878

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #13 on: Jan 27, 2004, 06:28:08 PM »
I own/use a CHROMATIC Tuner.  Of course I use it to tune my open strings, but I also have a pig-tail that goes from the tuner over to the fiddle.  I clip it onto the bridge and as I practice I can watch and work on tuning my finger into the right notes.
Aside from the fiddle outfit, it's the most helpful tool I own.

Offline fidla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3,848

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Nineth year Anniversary Windows User
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #14 on: Jan 28, 2004, 03:47:33 PM »
I was trained classically to use my ear to tune.  So I don't use an electronic tuner, rather I get an A from someone else and tune to them.  

Having said that I hear the Intellitouch tuners are handy (hard to mount on a violin scroll, though).  John, the banjo player in my band, uses one.  I sometimes borrow it in a pinch on stage to quick tune the 'zouki.

Offline Pilgrum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 878

  • Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #15 on: Jan 29, 2004, 02:56:25 AM »
Arsweet,
the little picture in the bottom left, what is it?

Offline ThunderFingers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Your hair can never be too long

  • Total Badges: 24
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Level 5 Super Combination
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #16 on: Jan 29, 2004, 09:52:44 PM »
I have always just used a tuning fork.

Offline swarbrules

  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,035

  • Total Badges: 23
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Search Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #17 on: Feb 08, 2004, 08:42:13 AM »
I've been pondering an Intellitune (my Marshall doesn't seem to work too well with my fiddle). Where do you fix it to the fiddle?

As a beginner, I can't use harmonics and octaves for tuning but, I do use them to check my finger placing.

Offline chifiddler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266

  • Total Badges: 24
    Badges: (View All)
    Windows User Tenth year Anniversary Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #18 on: Feb 08, 2004, 04:43:48 PM »
Put it on the scroll at the end. You can turn it so you can see it as you tune.

As far as tuning forks, I can't do it in most of the session settings that I play in, the ambient noise is just too loud!  I also tune to the instruments that have less flexiblility in tuning, such as accordions, pipes and flutes. I usually use the Intellitouch first, then make a fine adjustment or two checking against them.

Offline swarbrules

  • Someone with 5 blobs
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,035

  • Total Badges: 23
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Search Level 5
Re:digital tuner question..
« Reply #19 on: Feb 08, 2004, 06:00:59 PM »
Put it on the scroll at the end. You can turn it so you can see it as you tune.

Thanks

 




Get Adobe Flash player


Fiddle and Alternative Strings Forum (c) 2016 Mark Knight /
SONiC FUEL
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal