Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Forum Shops

Affiliates

Author Topic: Bow Hair - What's the difference?  (Read 9036 times)

Offline fidla

• Total Badges: 25
    Badges: (View All)
    Tenth year Anniversary Nineth year Anniversary Windows User
Bow Hair - What's the difference?
« on: May 31, 2005, 11:28:24 PM »

-what is the difference between...

I've been a bow hair professional for many years.  At Emily's, we import some of the highest quality horse tail hair sorted for the professional bow market in the world.  Our horse hair comes from the North East region of China including Inner Mongolia, also Mongolia, Siberia and sometimes Canada and Argentina.  The hair is cleaned with a mild detergent (no bleach), rinsed and dried in a cool dark warehouse for several days, turned carefully and by hand.  The hair is then quickly sorted and combed (with hackles), tied off in a bundle.  The hair is then drawn, butted off and tied into loose bundles.  What happens next determines the quality of the Bowhair, and our grading system. 

You can read more and look at pictures from our latest trip to the hair factory at http://bestbowhair.com/

Let me try to answer your (simplified) questions:
1.  what is the difference between horse hair and synthetic hair in terms of sound, playability, preferences (assuming professional genre players have a preference)?

Answer: there is a HUGE difference.  First let's talk about the electrostatic principals of natural vs synthetic hair.  Natural hair acts like a magnet, attracting dust particles, whereas synthetic acts like a reverse magnet, repelling dust particles.  This is why they still make push brooms, brushes, and rollers out of natural hair, and why synthetic hair brushes don't last very long.  Horse hair attracts the small particles of rosin dust, whereas synthetic hair pushes rosin away.