Fiddle and Alternative Strings Forum

Instruments and Equipment => Other Accessories => Topic started by: Keeri3 on Dec 30, 2003, 12:55:38 AM

Title: digital tuner question..
Post by: Keeri3 on Dec 30, 2003, 12:55:38 AM
Forgive me if this has been brought up too many times, but I didn't find much info when I searched...
Since I just got my first fiddle, I need to find a digital tuner for it, and was curious as to what y'all used?
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: alwyswinn on Dec 30, 2003, 01:16:21 AM
here you go kerri a bit of discussion here

http://www.fiddleforum.com/fiddleforum/index.php?board=5;action=display;threadid=192

let us know if that helps if not ask the question in that thread there
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Martin on Dec 30, 2003, 03:23:39 PM
I use a "Qwik Tune" automatic chromatic tuner. Takes 2xAAA batteries. I'm not sure you'd call it digital as it uses an analogue LCD pointer to show how sharp/flat you are. There's a built in electronic pitch pipe too for when you're tunign up new strings and need a ballpark note to aim for.

I personally find blown pitch pipes near useless as I can blow the note out of tune by blowing harder or softer.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: chifiddler on Dec 30, 2003, 09:13:41 PM
I use an Intellitouch tuner that clamps on the fiddle. Spring for the one with the lighted display, it is ten dollars more but worth it to see the reading in a dark session setting!
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: fiddlingaround on Dec 30, 2003, 09:30:21 PM
I use a korg, it's about $20 and works very well. 2 triple A batterys I tihnk
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: mizlizj on Dec 30, 2003, 10:34:53 PM
I just received my Intellitouch Tuner yesterday.  I love it! It was worth the investment.  I got the one with a backlight.  I wouldn't trade it for anything. It is so easy to use.

Liz
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Mnfele on Dec 31, 2003, 12:50:43 AM
Most of the time I use a tuning fork but if I'm in a hurry I use my old Qwik-Tune. (Older model, looks more like a Korg) If I'm tuning my hardingfele I need the Qwik-Tune! If I was purchasing a new tuner I would consider a tuner / metronome combination. Less stuff to carry in the case pocket.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Graham Clark on Dec 31, 2003, 02:47:16 PM
I don't use a tuner unless I'm on stage with a VERY LOUD BAND, and that tuner is just part of the Korg effects unit I occasionally use. Even so, I would have tuned by ear beforehand.

I tune the A to a fork, or another instrument, then bow two strings at once to get the fifths perfect (A-D, then D-G, then E-A) I finish off by testing the harmonics, fourth finger harmonic (ie D) on G gives the octave D, same as the octave harmonic of the D, etc.

I use an old metal Thomastik tailpiece with four fine tuners, though my pegs are good. At the moment. I am  using Corelli Alliance strings. They hold their tuning pretty well, as do Zyex and Dominant, but on a very hot lit stage, you need the ability to do a quick tweak.

gc

Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Mnfele on Dec 31, 2003, 05:24:03 PM
GC,
Noticed that you test your tuning with harmonics. (Actually your tuning procedure is almost identical to what I do.) Is this a practice that has gone out of style? I have been doing it for decades but never see any of the younger (< 35 yrs) players do this.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: natnot on Dec 31, 2003, 08:29:23 PM
I know quite a few people who use the harmonic method to tune, particularly cellists - they are all university students so are mainly late teens/early twenties. I don't use it though, I just tune my A from my tuning fork and listen for the fifths for the other strings.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: chifiddler on Jan 01, 2004, 05:28:00 PM
Korg makes a very inexpensive tuner that allows you to play with a tone at 440 or you can use the feature that shows whether you are sharp or flat to 440.

Yes, I can tune to A and use harmonics, however, in the conditions I play in, the tuner can be used for a quick check of the tuning.

I also tune to the least tunable instruments at session, the pipes and flutes. They can tune in a narrow range...
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Jack002 on Jan 06, 2004, 09:43:52 PM
I have the Intellitouch without the light. Its great. I always wanted to know how to tune using harmonics and never learned. I can get close just tuning by ear tho.

Jack
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Richard Martin on Jan 27, 2004, 02:27:40 PM
must admit I have got veryu lazy about tuning and use an electronic Korg tuner - less time tuning more time annoying the neighbours.... hmmm or maybe tuning would annoy them more perhaps I should tune the way I was originaly taught
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Pilgrum on Jan 27, 2004, 06:28:08 PM
I own/use a CHROMATIC Tuner.  Of course I use it to tune my open strings, but I also have a pig-tail that goes from the tuner over to the fiddle.  I clip it onto the bridge and as I practice I can watch and work on tuning my finger into the right notes.
Aside from the fiddle outfit, it's the most helpful tool I own.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: fidla on Jan 28, 2004, 03:47:33 PM
I was trained classically to use my ear to tune.  So I don't use an electronic tuner, rather I get an A from someone else and tune to them.  

Having said that I hear the Intellitouch tuners are handy (hard to mount on a violin scroll, though).  John, the banjo player in my band, uses one.  I sometimes borrow it in a pinch on stage to quick tune the 'zouki.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: Pilgrum on Jan 29, 2004, 02:56:25 AM
Arsweet,
the little picture in the bottom left, what is it?
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: ThunderFingers on Jan 29, 2004, 09:52:44 PM
I have always just used a tuning fork.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: swarbrules on Feb 08, 2004, 08:42:13 AM
I've been pondering an Intellitune (my Marshall doesn't seem to work too well with my fiddle). Where do you fix it to the fiddle?

As a beginner, I can't use harmonics and octaves for tuning but, I do use them to check my finger placing.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: chifiddler on Feb 08, 2004, 04:43:48 PM
Put it on the scroll at the end. You can turn it so you can see it as you tune.

As far as tuning forks, I can't do it in most of the session settings that I play in, the ambient noise is just too loud!  I also tune to the instruments that have less flexiblility in tuning, such as accordions, pipes and flutes. I usually use the Intellitouch first, then make a fine adjustment or two checking against them.
Title: Re:digital tuner question..
Post by: swarbrules on Feb 08, 2004, 06:00:59 PM
Put it on the scroll at the end. You can turn it so you can see it as you tune.

Thanks
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal